Municipal Police Officer Certification
seeking certification must meet one of the following criteria:
New Cadet: Successfully complete a Pennsylvania basic police
training course approved by the Commission.
This includes any individual granted a partial waiver of the training
requirements under Act 165 (military/federal police). Individuals without
previous police officer training should visit the Basic Police Officer Training
Returning Police Officer: Previously was a Commission-certified police
officer and left this position in good standing or was previously employed
as a full-time police officer in this Commonwealth before June 18, 1974, who
was not required to obtain certification from the Commission, and worked as a
full-time police officer for at least 5 years.
Requires proof of previous
municipal police certification.
Out of State Transfer: Previously or currently employed as a full-time
police officer of another state, having met the certification standards of that
state, provided the certification was based on the completion of a basic police
course comparable to that required of municipal police officers in Pennsylvania. Requires
proof of employment as a police officer in another state and proof of
successful completion of a qualified academy.
Individuals who have satisfied the
minimum training standards may apply to take the state certification examination by completing an
application in the Training and Certification System (TACS). Failure to supply required supporting
documents will result in delay/denial of your application. Select from available test dates/locations
when creating the application in TACS.
Individuals who have successfully completed the Certification Exam within the past 24 months are eligible to be certified if
they are also employed by a municipal police department. The employing police department is
responsible for all certification records in TACS. More information about the employment process
and requirements is available on the Information for Police Departments page.