Training and Education Policies and Procedures 
 
BUREAU OF TRAINING AND EDUCATION FACILITIES
The Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Training and Education, operates the Pennsylvania State Police Academy in Hershey, including one classroom at Troop H, Harrisburg and four Regional Training Centers in the Commonwealth. The locations of these centers are noted in the Training Calendar.

All training facilities are staffed by experienced State Police instructors who are supplemented by guest lecturers and experts in certain areas of instruction. The Academy, including courses being held at the Troop H classroom and the Southwest Training Center are the only locations equipped to provide meals and lodging for students.

PROCEDURES FOR ADMISSION
Municipal Police and Other Law Enforcement Officers
NOTE: Training is available only to sworn law enforcement officers and approved employees of law enforcement agencies.
The Application for Enrollment in State Police Training Course, Form SP 8-130, is the only form which shall be used by municipal police officers registering for any course listed in the Training Calendar. A copy of the form is available for download in the “Law Enforcement Services” section of the State Police website at www.psp.state.pa.us. Copies of the form are also available at the Academy and the Regional Training Centers. Student confirmations are made via written correspondence. Without prior confirmation, students will not be admitted to the class.

Applications shall be submitted directly to the Academy unless otherwise noted in the course description. When submitting an application via fax, it is not necessary to submit the original application. Applications must be received no less than 30 days in advance of the scheduled course. A check, payable to the “Commonwealth of Pennsylvania,” shall be forwarded upon receipt of confirmation notice where special fees, lodging, or meals are applicable. Reimbursements will be made in accordance with established procedures; however, no refunds will be made for meals which are paid for in advance when the student chooses not to eat at the Academy. A separate check is not required for each student; however, when paying with a single check, applications must be for the same training course and the applicant(s) name(s) and course title must be reflected on the check. The Bureau of Training and Education will determine class composition, and all students will be notified as soon as possible. Non-Department applicants will be instructed in the confirmation notice to contact the Bishop

Connare Center regarding meal and lodging issues when training is being conducted at the Southwest Training Center.
If reasonable accommodations are required for a person with a disability, please contact the training facility to be attended at least 14 days before the course begins.

In the event that a scheduled student is unable to attend a course, your department may substitute another student not less than five days prior to the start of the course. When time permits, this will require the submission of a new application; otherwise, telephone notification will be accepted, and the student will be required to hand carry the approved application to the training facility. Telephone notifications of cancellations, made to the Academy, will be accepted and must be received at least five days prior to the start of a course.

Fees and Costs
Tuition: In keeping with its commitment to training, the Pennsylvania State Police is offering the courses in this Training Calendar free of tuition with the exception of the Municipal Police Officers’ Basic Training.
Special Fees: Specialized equipment may be required for certain courses. When applicable, a check covering the cost for such equipment must accompany the application as described on the previous page. Refer to the specific course description.

Lodging and Meals
Academy:
Charge for lodging is $7.50 per night.
Charges for meals are:
Breakfast - $3.00 Lunch - $3.75 Dinner - $4.75.
Dinner is not provided on the last day of a course, nor is it provided for a one-day course. Lodging is dormitory-style. Bed linens are provided; however, towels and other personal items are the responsibility of the student.
Examples - Resident costs for meals for a one-day class will be $6.75 for meals--breakfast and lunch--PLUS $7.50 for one night of lodging. Commuter cost for a one-day class will be $3.75 for lunch. For a two-day course, the cost would be as follows: resident costs for breakfast, lunch, and dinner of the first day ($11.50) and breakfast and lunch of the second day ($6.75) PLUS $7.50 for each night of lodging. Commuter costs for a two-day course will be $7.50 for lunch for both days.
 
Southwest Training Center: Food and lodging costs and reservations for the Southwest Training Center can be obtained by writing to: Bishop Connare Center, 2900 Seminary Drive, Greensburg, PA 15601, or by telephone at (724) 834-7350.
State Police Personnel
Department personnel shall submit an Application for Enrollment in State Police Training Course, Form SP 8-130, through channels, to their Troop Commander or Bureau Director. A copy of the form is available as an e-library template on the I-Net. Troop Commanders and Bureau Directors shall nominate personnel for enrollment in the training classes and forward the applications via fax, e-mail, or regular mail directly to the Academy unless otherwise noted in the course description. When submitting an application via fax or e-mail, it is not necessary to submit the original application. Applications must be received at the Academy no less than 30 days in advance of the scheduled course. NOTE: No fees are required; therefore, Item #10 of Section B on the application does not require an entry.
If reasonable accommodations are required for a person with a disability, please contact the training facility at least 14 days before the course begins.

Acceptance notifications will be made as soon as possible prior to the start of the course via e-mail to the involved Troop Commander or Bureau Director to be forwarded, through channels, to the student.
In the event the scheduled student is unable to attend the course, the Troop Commander or Bureau Director may substitute another student not less than five days prior to the start of the course. This will require nomination for enrollment with an indication that it is a replacement (indicate for whom). When time does not permit mailing, telephone or e-mail notification to the Academy is acceptable, and the student may hand carry the approved application.

Requests for Lodging
Academy, Troop H Classroom, and Southwest Training Center: Lodging is dependent upon availability. Bed linens are provided; however, towels and other personal items are the responsibility of the student.
Students requiring lodging at the Academy must indicate that need on their application, including the exact dates required. LODGING PREFERENCE MUST BE INDICATED ON THE TRAINING APPLICATION OR IT WILL NOT BE REQUESTED. If requested lodging is not available, it will be indicated on the acceptance notification; otherwise, lodging will be scheduled.
Students requiring lodging at the Southwest Training Center must contact Bishop Connare Center at (724) 834-7350.
 
MEALS
Academy and Southwest Training Center: Department personnel are provided with meals while attending training sessions at the Academy, Troop H classroom, or the Southwest Training Center. Students are not entitled to lunch whenever the course starting time is 1:00 p.m. or later. When a course terminates at noon, lunch will be provided; however, dinner will not.

CONDUCT
All students will be required to abide by rules and regulations established by the Pennsylvania State Police which are applicable to training programs and student conduct.
Appropriate business attire, with an official ID card displayed, is required at all training facilities unless otherwise specifically directed. Males shall be attired in a dress shirt and dress slacks. A collared shirt is required for the Academy cafeteria, unless training dictates otherwise. Females shall be attired in a dress, or a dress blouse with dress slacks or skirt.
All weapons shall be secured in vehicles prior to entering the training site. Firearms are prohibited in all training facilities unless otherwise specifically directed.

COURSE COMPLETION
Appropriate certificates will be issued to all students who successfully complete a course. Unless otherwise specified, a 100% attendance requirement is established for all students participating in any training program.

PREREQUISITE COURSES
For courses that have a prerequisite, the student shall attach a copy of all applicable documents/certificates to the Application for Enrollment in State Police Training Course, Form SP 8-130.

SCHEDULED COURSES
General Information: The courses listed in this Training Calendar are tentatively scheduled for January through June 2015, and are informational and advisory only. Changes in courses, procedures, fees, etc. may be made upon the determination of the Pennsylvania State Police. Any changes will be brought to the attention of all affected parties.
 
Anticipated Training: As additional courses are developed, they will be announced in supplemental publications; on the Internet at http://www.psp.state.pa.us; via CLEAN message; and the PSP Intranet (PSP only).
Starting Times: The starting time listed with each course description indicates the time the class will start on the first day. Starting and ending times for the remaining days of the class will be announced on the first day of the class.
Additional Information: All inquiries may be directed to the Academy, the Regional Training Center, or the appropriate training source listed at the back of this Training Calendar.
Abbreviations: The following abbreviations shall have the following meaning:
LEO Pennsylvania State Police Liquor Enforcement Officer and
Enforcement Officer 3
MP Municipal Police Officer
MCEO Motor Carrier Enforcement Officer
PCO Pennsylvania State Police - Police Communications Operator
PSP Pennsylvania State Police enlisted members
PSP Employee Pennsylvania State Police civilian personnel
PSP Personnel Pennsylvania State Police enlisted, LEOs, MCEOs, and civilian personnel

RECOMMENDATIONS AND COMMENTS
Input for improving current training or establishing additional training needs is actively solicited. Recommendations and comments relative to any aspect of training may be submitted to the Bureau of Training and Education, Attention: Director, Training Division, 175 East Hersheypark Drive, Hershey, PA 17033. Pennsylvania State Police personnel shall submit comments through their chain of command to the Director, Training Division, Bureau of Training and Education. 

INTERNET ACCESS
This calendar can also be accessed on the Pennsylvania State Police Home Page at http://www.psp.state.pa.us. Click on the “Law Enforcement Services” link on the left side of the screen, scroll down to the section entitled “Training”, and click on the “Training Calendar” link. The Academy and Regional Training Centers also have PSP e-mail and internet e-mail addresses. Please refer to the section entitled “Course Dates by Location” for these addresses.

MUNICIPAL POLICE OFFICERS’ BASIC TRAINING
(As required by Act 120 and governed by the Municipal Police Officers’ Education and Training Commission [MPOETC])
Tuition: $ 2,737.00 (Subject to change)
This course is mandatory for municipal police officers hired after June 18, 1974. Prior to the submission of the Application for Enrollment in State Police Training Course, Form SP 8-130, the employing political subdivision must apply to the MPOETC for approval of attendance for their officer. This is accomplished on an Application for Certification under the Municipal Police Officers’ Education and Training Program or Waiver of Training, Form SP 8-300. Classes are offered in highway safety, accident investigation, public safety, crime prevention, social science, physical training, interagency relationships, and other police skills. The program consists of classroom lectures, practical applications, demonstrations, and role-playing in problem-solving techniques. A trainee must attain a passing score in all phases of the basic course, as required.

The MPOETC has implemented regulations which require all students entering the program to: (1) Demonstrate their ability to perform at the 30th percentile of the fitness protocol (found at www.mpoetc.state.pa.us) established by the Cooper Institute and adopted by the MPOETC as entry and exit standards for fitness in the Basic Recruit Training Program; and (2) demonstrate their ability to read at a ninth grade level as determined by the Nelson Denny Reading Test. The fitness tests and Nelson Denny Reading Test may be administered by either the hiring municipality or the police academy. The Pennsylvania State Police will administer these selection tests if course applicants have not met requirements prior to enrollment.
Applicants will be advised of required equipment and clothing needed prior to or at their first class.
Applications for Enrollment in State Police Training Course, Form SP 8-130, are to be submitted no less than 30 days in advance of the scheduled course. Each class will require a minimum of 10 students. The maximum number of students per class is 30. Municipal department representatives should contact the appropriate training center for meal and lodging information.
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