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North American Standard Level I Commercial Vehicle 

Safety Inspection Training 

 
This training is utilized by Pennsylvania to certify inspectors to conduct systematic 

driver/vehicle inspections as authorized by the Vehicle Code 

 (Title 75 Pa.C.S. §4704(f)). 

 

Objectives: 

 

To provide inspectors with the basic information needed to conduct driver/vehicle 

inspections. 

 

To familiarize inspectors with the US Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations. 

 

To familiarize inspectors with the North American Standard Out-of-Service Criteria. 

 

To provide inspectors with guidance on placing drivers/vehicles out-of-service. 

 

To provide inspectors with enforcement guidelines which are applicable throughout 

Pennsylvania. 

 

Program Requirements:  

 

Full attendance for the entire 100 hours of training. 

 

Participants must bring with them a laptop computer and printer that meets minimum 

Department provided performance requirements (Inspection software will be provided 

free of charge). 

 

Successful completion of the training course, to include passage of two written tests, by a 

score of 80% on each test. 

 

A minimum of 40 Level 1 inspections and 30 Level 3 inspections per year and attendance 

at a 2 day update training class to maintain certification. 

 

Compliance with all Department inspection policies and procedures to maintain 

certification. 

 

 

 



 

 

Pennsylvania State Police Vehicle Weighing and 

Measuring Training 

 
This training is utilized by Pennsylvania to certify enforcement officers in the use of 

weighing equipment as required by the Vehicle Code (Title 75 Pa.C.S. § 4981(a)). 

 

 

Objectives: 

 

To provide enforcement officers with the basic information needed to weigh and measure 

vehicles. 

 

To familiarize officers with the Vehicle Code (Title 75 Pa.C.S., Chapter 49) size and 

weight limitations. 

 

To familiarize officers with the Oversize/Overweight Permit Regulations (Title 67 Pa. 

Code, Chapter 179). 

 

To provide officers with guidance on how to properly weigh and measure vehicles. 

 

To provide officers with information on prior court cases involving size and weight 

issues in Pennsylvania. 

 

To provide officers with enforcement guidelines which are applicable throughout 

Pennsylvania. 

 

 

Program Requirements: 

 

 

Full attendance for the entire 18 hours of training. 

 

Successful completion of the training course, to include passage of a written test, by a 

score of 80%. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

                                     2016 Training Schedule 

 
Vehicle Weighing and Measuring Course; 

(18 Hours) 

 

 

    Bucks County Area                                 Harrisburg Area              

    March  22, 23 & 24    April 12, 13 & 14 

 

 

    Pittsburgh Area                                          Harrisburg Area 

    June 28, 29 & 30                                        August 9, 10 & 11 

 

  Chester County PA  
 Public Safety Training Campus –  
137 Modena Road - Coatesville, Pa 19320                  Harrisburg Area 

    September 13, 14 & 15                               October 18, 19 & 20 

         

 

Driver/Vehicle Inspection Course; 

(100 Hours) 

 

Class size will be limited to 25 officers with priority being given to municipalities located 

in counties where there is limited participation and truck volumes and or crashes warrant 

additional enforcement activities. Officers must be in possession of a laptop and portable  

printer meeting minimum department system requirements to attend training. Class will 

be held at the Pennsylvania State Police, Commercial Vehicle Safety Division Training 

Room, Harrisburg, PA.  

 

    March 14 thru March  18, 2016 Level I Parts A  (40 Hours) PSP only 

       . Part C March 21 thru March 23, 2016   (24 Hours) PSP only  

 

    May 16 thru May 27, 2016 NAS Level I Parts A & B (80 Hours) Municipal only 

 Part C  June 6 thru June 8, 2016 (24 Hours)   Class is now FULL  
           

    July 25 thru August 5, 2016 Level I Part A & B (80 Hours) Municipal only 

.  Part C August 15 thru August 17, 2016 (24 Hours) 

Class is now FULL 

                  For more information contact:  
 

Pennsylvania State Police 

Commercial Vehicle Safety Division 

1800 Herr Street (Tent Building), Harrisburg, PA  17103 

Douglas A. Kemp 



Telephone: (717) 346-7347 

Fax: (717) 346-7338 



                                                                                                      
         

          COURSE NAME:    ___________________________________________________________________ 

 

          COURSE DATE:     ___________________________________________________________________ 

   
          STUDENT INFORMATION: 

          Name:  ___________________________________________________________________________________ 

          Agency: ___________________________________________________________________________________ 

         Address:   ___________________________              County:       ___________________________________________ 

                        ___________________________              Email:        ___________________________________________   

          Phone:      ___________________________               Cell Phone:             ____________________________________ 

          Full or Part-time Officer:  ____________              Agency Full or Part-time: ______________________________   

  

          OTHER INFORMATION: 

          Previous MCSAP Certified: ______ (Y/N)              Where/When:    _______________________________________ 

 

          Previous MCSAP application: ______ (Y/N)              When:               _______________________________________ 

      

          Names of other currently MCSAP certified staff within your agency:      

   

          ___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
        

         Hours to be dedicated commercial vehicle enforcement ____________   

         MCSAP hours per month______________ 

         Size & Weight per month______________ 

         Please acknowledge Agency has safe location to inspect/weigh/measure commercial vehicles_____(Y/N) 

         Please acknowledge Agency has location to place commercial vehicles out-of-service or contingency plan______(Y/N) 

         Major roadway/commercial vehicle routes within your jurisdiction: 

         ______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

        Approval by Chief or Head of Agency/Department: 

        Name (print): _________________________________________ 

        Title:  _________________________________________ 

 

        Signature:               _________________________________________ 

        Please return this form to:  

       Pennsylvania State Police 

       Commercial Vehicle Safety Division  

       1800 Herr Street (Tent Building) 

       Harrisburg, PA 17103 

       ATTN: Brian M. Carpenter 

       Telephone: (717) 346-7337 

       FAX: (717) 346-7338 

 

         Pennsylvania State Police 

 Commercial Vehicle Safety Division 

        Training Application Form 


