Skip Navigation LinksPennsylvania State Police > Law Enforcement Services > Training and Education Policies and Procedures

Training and Education Policies and Procedures

 

PROCEDURES FOR ADMISSION AND CANCELLATIONS:
Training conducted by the Pennsylvania State Police is available to sworn law enforcement officers and approved employees of law enforcement agencies.

The Application for Enrollment in State Police Training Course (Form SP 8-130) is the only form accepted to register for a training course offered or hosted by the Pennsylvania State Police Bureau of Training and Education.

Applications shall be submitted directly to the Academy unless otherwise noted in the course description. All applications for enrollment shall be submitted via email to the Academy at ra-psptrainingandeducation@pa.gov. Applications must be received at least 30 days in advance of the scheduled course unless there is an exigent circumstance. It is not necessary to submit the original application. 

In the event a scheduled student is unable to attend a course, your department or station may substitute another student, provided the substitution is not less than five days prior to the start of the course. Substitution of a student will require the submission of a new application for enrollment (Form SP 8-130) prior to the start of the course. Notification of student cancellations shall be made to the Academy at least five days prior to the start of a course.

Confirmations of acceptance into a training course are sent via email to the student as well as their Bureau Director/Troop Commander/Chief/Supervisor at least 25 days prior to the start of the course.  If a confirmation is not received, the student will not be admitted to the class. 

If a student is not accepted into the training course, an email to the student as well as their Bureau Director/Troop Commander/Chief/Supervisor at least 25 days prior to the start of the course.  The email will indicate the reason for non-acceptance (example: the class was full, etc.) 

PREREQUISITE COURSES:
For courses that have a prerequisite, the student shall attach a copy of all applicable documents/certificates to the Application for Enrollment in State Police Training Course, Form SP 8-130.

COURSE COMPLETION:
Certificates will be issued to students who successfully complete a training course. Unless otherwise specified or approved, a 100 percent attendance requirement is established for all students participating in any Pennsylvania State Police training program.

CONDUCT:
Appropriate business attire, with an official ID card displayed, is required at all training facilities unless otherwise specifically directed. All students will be required to abide by the Pennsylvania State Police Academy Rules and Regulations established by which are applicable to all training courses and student conduct. Dress code specifics can be found here

FEES AND COSTS:

There are no tuition costs for training calendar courses conducted by the Pennsylvania State Police Bureau of Training and Education, with the exception of the Municipal Police Officers’ Basic Training. Courses hosted (not conducted) by the Pennsylvania State Police at our facility may incur tuition or registration costs.  In those instances, the course description will indicate the costs.

MEALS:
Meals are only available at the Pennsylvania State Police Academy in Hershey and the Southwest Training Center in Greensburg.  Meal pricing for both locations is as follows:
                                    *Academy                             *Southwest Training Center      
 
Breakfast                      $3.00                                               $9.85             
Salad Bar                      $2.25                                               Price based on salad weight
Lunch                            $3.75                                               $12.35
Dinner                           $3.75                                               $15.95
 
*Meal pricing may be subject to change

A collared shirt is required for the Academy cafeteria, unless training dictates otherwise. Students are not entitled to lunch whenever the course starting time is 1:00 p.m. or later.  Dinner is not provided on the last day of a course, nor is it provided for a one-day course.
 
LODGING:
Lodging is only available at the Pennsylvania State Police Academy in Hershey and the Southwest Training Center in Greensburg. There is no cost for lodging for Pennsylvania State Police members and employees.  Lodging is dependent upon availability and other operational/training considerations. Lodging is dormitory-style. Bed linens are provided; however, towels and other personal items are the responsibility of the student.
 
All lodging requests shall be directed to the Academy Lodging Coordinator at 717-533-9111, Extension 315, or the Southwest Training Center/Bishop Connare Center, at 724-834-7350.  If accommodations are required for a person with a disability, please contact the training facility to be attended at least 14 days before the course begins so assistance can be provided.

 

SCHEDULED COURSES:
The training calendar will be updated regularly, so students seeking training are encouraged to revisit the site periodically.  Changes in courses, content, location, fees, etc. may be made upon the determination of the Pennsylvania State Police.  Any changes will be brought to the attention of all affected students and agencies as soon as possible prior to the class start date.

 

RECOMMENDATIONS AND COMMENTS:
The Pennsylvania State Police is committed to providing the best training possible.  Input for improving current training or identifying a need for additional training courses is greatly appreciated.  Recommendations and comments relative to any aspect of training may be submitted to the Bureau of Training and Education, Attention: Director, Operational Training Division, 175 East Hersheypark Drive, Hershey, PA 17033.