Individuals who are currently certified in Pennsylvania or who
retired within the past three years with a certification in Pennsylvania as a
Police Officer, Sheriff, Deputy Sheriff, Attorney General Criminal Law Agent,
or other Pennsylvania law enforcement officer (excludes Corrections Officers)
may be eligible for waivers and should select the Police/Law
Enforcement Officer link.
All other individuals should follow the instructions below to apply for initial
certification as a Lethal Weapons Agent.
Step 1: Complete an online (Basic Applicant) application using
the TACS System.
Log in as a First-Time User on the left side of the screen. If the system
recognizes your information, you may be instructed to select the other option
to log in with your existing profile, also on the left side of the
screen. Once you are in the system select the Home Act 235 button and
select the Basic Training Application. Scroll down to select “Start
Application”. Complete all required information on each screen and submit
when you have finished. This will require a credit card payment of $50.00.
Step 2: When you submit your application
you will receive an automated email from Identigo/Morphotrust
with instructions for scheduling your fingerprint session. You must be
fingerprinted at one of the approved Identigo/Morphotrust locations. You will not receive the results of your
fingerprints, these will be forwarded directly to the Lethal Weapons
Certification Unit for review.
Step 3: When you submit your application you will also receive a confirmation email from
the Lethal Weapons Certification Unit with instructions to download and print
the physical and psychological examination forms. You must undergo
a physical and psychological examination at your own expense. The physicians
must be PA licensed and the physicians must submit completed and signed forms to
the Lethal Weapons Certification Unit.
WAIVERS: Individuals who have completed comparable law enforcement training within the past five years may be waived of the academic training requirement. Individuals who have successfully qualified on a law enforcement firearms course within the past 12 months may be waived of the firearms training requirement. To request waiver consideration, please submit supporting documents to the Lethal Weapons Certification Unit at email@example.com or at the address listed below.
PHOTOGRAPHS: If you do not possess a valid PA driver’s license or are an
out-of-state resident you must, in addition to the steps above, submit two (2)
passport size photos to the Lethal Weapons Certification Unit at the address
PA State Police
8002 Bretz Drive
Harrisburg, PA 17112
Upon receipt of official notification you have been approved for training you
should schedule training at an Act 235 certified school. A list of
certified schools can be found on the Certified
Schools page. It is your responsibility to schedule the training
after receiving the approval letter.
Step 5: Upon completion of training, login to TACS (click
'have an account' login using your last name, full birthday: MM/DD/YEAR, and
the last four digits of your SSN) to submit the $30.00 certification fee by credit card payment. (We no longer accept checks or money
|Application Fee - paid in TACS
|Fingerprint Fee - paid to MorphoTrust
|Certification Fee - paid in TACS