Skip Navigation LinksPennsylvania State Police > Lethal Weapons Training Program > Police Law Enforcement Officer

POLICE / LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER

 

Individuals who are currently certified in Pennsylvania or who retired with a certification listed below may be waived of certain requirements for certification under Act 235. Eligible officers must provide required documentation to be considered for waivers (see steps below).

  • Police Officer
  • Sheriff
  • Deputy Sheriff
  • Attorney General Criminal Law Agent
  • Other Pennsylvania law enforcement officer (excludes Corrections Officers)
 
Step 1: Complete an online (Basic Applicant) application using the TACS System. Log in as a First Time User on the left side of the screen. If the system recognizes your information, you may be instructed to select the other option to log in with your existing profile, also on the left side of the screen. Once you are in the system select the Home Act 235 button and select the Basic Training Application. Scroll down to select “Start Application”.

Please review the application carefully and select the appropriate waiver option before submitting your application
Step 2: Once you have been fingerprinted, please complete and submit a Police Officer Exemption to Lethal Weapons Certification Unit in addition to completing the online application in step 1. Please complete and email the exemption form to ra-mpolethalweapcert@pa.gov along with any supporting documentation.
NOTIFICATION: Upon review of your application, correspondence will be sent to the address you provided notifying you of the status of your application and providing instructions for further action. 
Step 3:  If directed in the notification, download and print the physical examination and psychological examination forms. You are responsible for the cost of the physical and psychological examination. The physicians must be PA licensed and must submit the completed and signed forms to the Lethal Weapons Certification Unit at the address below.
Step 4: Pay your $30 certification fee via the TACS website:

 

Fee Breakdown:
Fingerprint Fee  
$22.60
Certification Fee
$30.00
Total Fees
$52.60