Scrap Material Theft Prevention Act 79
Recent changes to ACT 79 require that "a scrap processor and recycling facility shall register with the Pennsylvania State Police."
In order to comply with this, Scrap Processors and Recycling Facilities must follow the the following steps for registration:
- Download the Scrap Recycling Facility Registration Application.
- Fill out the application, print it and mail it with a check for $100 made out to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania to:
Pennnsylvania State Police
Director, Bureau of Criminal Investigation
Attn: Scrap Material Registration Unit
1800 Elmerton Avenue
Harrisburg PA 17110
The application will be processed within 14 business days of receipt of the completed application and check.
If you have any questions, please contact the Bureau of Criminal Investigation at 717-783-5524.
Current List of Registered Scrap Metal Facilities