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TRAINING SCHEDULE
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Pennsylvania State Police
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Harrisburg, PA 17103
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North American Standard Level | Commercial VVehicle
Safety Inspection Training

This training is utilized by Pennsylvania to certify inspectors to conduct systematic
driver/vehicle inspections as authorized by the Vehicle Code

(Title 75 Pa.C.S. 84704(f)).

Objectives:

To provide inspectors with the basic information needed to conduct driver/vehicle
inspections.

To familiarize inspectors with the US Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations.
To familiarize inspectors with the North American Standard Out-of-Service Criteria.
To provide inspectors with guidance on placing drivers/vehicles out-of-service.

To provide inspectors with enforcement guidelines which are applicable throughout
Pennsylvania.

Program Requirements:

Full attendance for the entire 100 hours of training.

Participants must bring with them a laptop computer and printer that meets minimum
Department provided performance requirements (Inspection software will be provided

free of charge).

Successful completion of the training course, to include passage of two written tests, by a
score of 80% on each test.

A minimum of 40 Level 1 inspections and 30 Level 3 inspections per year and attendance
at a 2 day update training class to maintain certification.

Compliance with all Department inspection policies and procedures to maintain
certification.



Pennsylvania State Police Vehicle Weighing and
Measuring Training

This training is utilized by Pennsylvania to certify enforcement officers in the use of
weighing equipment as required by the Vehicle Code (Title 75 Pa.C.S. § 4981(a)).
Objectives:

To provide enforcement officers with the basic information needed to weigh and measure
vehicles.

To familiarize officers with the Vehicle Code (Title 75 Pa.C.S., Chapter 49) size and
weight limitations.

To familiarize officers with the Oversize/Overweight Permit Regulations (Title 67 Pa.
Code, Chapter 179).

To provide officers with guidance on how to properly weigh and measure vehicles.

To provide officers with information on prior court cases involving size and weight
issues in Pennsylvania.

To provide officers with enforcement guidelines which are applicable throughout
Pennsylvania.

Program Requirements:

Full attendance for the entire 18 hours of training.

Successful completion of the training course, to include passage of a written test, by a
score of 80%.



2017 Training Schedule

Vehicle Weighing and Measuring Course;

(18 Hours)

i (cancelled) Harrisburg Area
February-14-15-&16 April 18,19 & 20
Pittsburgh Area Bucks County Area
August 22, 23 & 24 November 14, 15 & 16

Driver/Vehicle Inspection Course;
(100 Hours)

Class size will be limited to 25 officers with priority being given to municipalities located
in counties where there is limited participation and truck volumes and or crashes warrant
additional enforcement activities. Officers must be in possession of a laptop and portable
printer meeting minimum department system requirements to attend training. Class will
be held at the Pennsylvania State Police, Commercial Vehicle Safety Division Training
Room, Harrisburg, PA.

June 5 thru June 9 NAS Level | PART A (40 Hours)
June 12 thru June 16, 2017 NAS Level | Part B (40 Hours)
Part C June 19 thru June 21, 2017 (24 Hours)

For more information contact:
Pennsylvania State Police
Commercial Vehicle Safety Division
1800 Herr Street (Tent Building), Harrisburg, PA 17103
Brian M. Carpenter
Telephone: (717) 346-7337
Fax: (717) 346-7338



Pennsylvania State Police
Commercial Vehicle Safety Division
Training Application Form

COURSE NAME:

COURSE DATE:

STUDENT INFORMATION:

Name:

Agency:
Address: County:

Email:

Phone: Cell Phone:

Full or Part-time Officer: Agency Full or Part-time:
OTHER INFORMATION:

Previous MCSAP Certified: (YIN) Where/When:

Previous MCSAP application: (YIN) When:

Names of other currently MCSAP certified staff within your agency:

Hours to be dedicated commercial vehicle enforcement

MCSAP hours per month

Size & Weight per month

Please acknowledge Agency has safe location to inspect/weigh/measure commercial vehicles__ (Y/N)

Please acknowledge Agency has location to place commercial vehicles out-of-service or contingency plan____ (Y/N)

Major roadway/commercial vehicle routes within your jurisdiction:

Approval by Chief or Head of Agency/Department:
Name (print):
Title:

Signature:

Please return this form to:

Pennsylvania State Police
Commercial Vehicle Safety Division
1800 Herr Street (Tent Building)
Harrisburg, PA 17103

ATTN: Brian M. Carpenter
Telephone: (717) 346-7337

FAX: (717) 346-7338
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