Municipal Police Firearms Instructor (MPFI)
Course Description: This course is designed to educate the experiences Pennsylvania Law Enforcement Officer on various methods used to conduct Firearms Qualification and training for their Municipal Police Department. Weapon systems that are covered are Semi-Automatic handgun, Revolver, Pump Action Shotgun, and Semi-Automatic Shotgun. Carbine instruction is covered under a separate 3-day training class. Students will be required to demonstrate proficiency with their handgun at the beginning and end of the course.
- Department-issued handgun and shotgun.
- Body armor.
- Baseball-style cap.
- Ear protection.
- Safety goggles or shooting glasses.
- 10 training (dummy) rounds for Department handgun.
- Three pistol magazines or three speed loaders (revolvers).
- 500 rounds of handgun ammunition.
- 25 rounds of 12 gauge 2 3/4" or 3" chambered rifled slug.
- 25 rounds of 12 gauge 2 3/4" or 3" chambered "00" buckshot.
- Complete set of leather gear, including handcuffs and key.
- Durable shirt and cargo pants (BDU) or uniform pants.
- Shoes or boots.
Instructional hours: 5 Days/40 Hours
Instructional Objectives: Upon completion of this course, the student will be exposed to the knowledge and skills required to be a safe and effective Firearms Instructor.
After completion, the student will be able to:
- List the Cardinal Rules of Firearms Safety.
- Demonstrate weapon care and cleaning.
- List the Principals of Marksmanship.
- List, diagnose, and correct common shooting errors.
- Explain police liability.
- Explain use of force.
- Demonstrate range control and list safety procedures.
- Complete dim light engagement and qualification.
- Develop and demonstrate effective drills.
- Demonstrate combat shooting.
Course Completion Requirements: Attendance and successfully pass (85% or above) a proficiency course with their handgun and shotgun as well as pass (75% of above) a 25-question written examination.
Audience: MP - (Note: for the purposes of the MPFI course eligibility, MUNICIPAL POLICE is defined as agencies that are required to submit their annual firearms qualification to MPOETC for retention. Further clarification can be obtained by contacting MPOETC at (717) 346-7747).
Prerequisite(s): The student must be able to score 80% or better on the first day of instruction with their handgun. Failure to demonstrate proficiency at this level will result in the student being unenrolled.
Cost: $500.00 - Pre-payment is not required for registration. Checks should be made out to the "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania" and mailed to the Pennsylvania State Police Academy once the student receives an acceptance letter into the course.
MPOETC CLEE Hours: 8 - CLEE ID# CLE00524
Registration: Please register for the classes below using form SP 8-130. All applications must be received 30 days prior to the course start date.
Locations: For a list of all training centers and directions, please visit the Training Center Page.
|Not Offered at This Time||Yes|
<<<Back to Main Training Page