The Pennsylvania State Police Right to Know Law Office will be considered closed until further notice. We will respond to all Right to Know Law and subpoena matters as promptly as possible once our offices have been reopened. Thank you.
This written policy outlines the proper procedures for requesting records from the Pennsylvania State Police (PSP) under
Pennsylvania’s Right to Know Law, 65 P.S. §§ 67.101-67.3104.
Questions regarding this policy should be directed to the Pennsylvania State Police Right-to-Know Law (RTKL) Office, at 1-877-785-7771.
Requesting Pennsylvania State Police Audio or Video Recordings
The Right-to-Know Law does not apply to requests for audio or video recordings. Act 22 of 2017 (specifically Chapter 67A of the Act) established a process for requesting audio and video recordings in possession of law enforcement agencies in Pennsylvania. For more information,
How to Submit a Right-to-Know Request to the Pennsylvania State Police
All RTKL requests for records must be in writing. Each request must identify or describe the records sought with sufficient specificity to enable PSP to ascertain which records are being requested. Each request must also provide a name and address to which the PSP response will be directed.
Please choose from one of the following forms below in order to submit your RTK request:
Pennsylvania State Police Right to Know Law Request form (PDF)
Pennsylvania Office of Open Records - Right-to-Know Uniform Request Form
All requests must be addressed to the Agency Open Records Officer, as follows:
Pennsylvania State Police
Bureau of Records & Identification
ATTN: Agency Open Records Officer, Mr.William Rozier
1800 Elmerton Avenue
Harrisburg, PA 17110
Fax: (717) 525-5795
Requests may be sent to PSP RTKL Office via mail, fax, or in person during regular business hours of 8:15 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday (except holidays and official office closings).
Investigative reports are not public information and therefore not accessible under the RTKL. Investigative reports may be available with a properly executed
Information on subpoena procedures at the Pennsylvania State Police.
Criminal History Record Information is not obtainable under the RTKL.
Request for Criminal History Record Information.
PSP does not possess or retain investigative or administrative information for other state or local government agencies.
To the extent that this request seeks or may be construed to seek Pennsylvania State Police records involving covert law enforcement investigations, including intelligence gathering and analysis, the Department can neither confirm, nor deny the existence of such records without risk of compromising investigations and imperiling individuals. UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES, therefore, should the Department’s response to this request be interpreted as indicating otherwise. In all events, should such records exist, they are entirely exempt from public disclosure under the Right-to-Know Law, 65 P.S. §§ 67.101-67.3104, and the Criminal History Record Information Act, 18 Pa.C.S. §§ 9101-9183.
If a written request for records is granted, the following fees will be charged to the requestor:
$0.25 per page for duplication;
$2.00 per record certification;
Actual costs for postage, facsimile or other media, and for duplication of specialized records (except that postage fees will be waived for postage that is under $1.00);
Fees will be waived for duplication that is under $5.00;
Information on fees for reproduction of transcripts can be found on page 5 of the Pennsylvania State Police Right-to-Know Law Policy (see link below).
RTKL fees for duplication are established by the
Office of Open Records. As expressly provided by 65 P.S. §67.1307(g), the Agency is authorized to charge requesters reasonable fees for necessarily incurred costs. The Agency will determine and charge such fees on a case by case basis. Answers to fee-related questions may be obtained by calling 1-877-785-7771.
Requesters must pay all applicable RTKL fees before access to requested records is provided. Should PSP determine that applicable fees are projected to exceed $100.00, the requester will be required to prepay the fees before the request is processed. All fees must be paid by certified check, bank check, or money order made payable to the “Commonwealth
All appeals shall be addressed as follows:
Pennsylvania Office of Open Records
Commonwealth Keystone Building
400 North Street, Plaza Level
Harrisburg, PA 17120-0225
Phone: (717) 346-9903
Website: Office of Open Records
Access Pennsylvania State Police Regulations
The Pennsylvania State Police is committed to transparency and thrives to make accessible Administrative Regulations, Field Regulations, and Operations Manuals except for sections that, if public, would negatively impact member safety or operational security.
Regulations and manuals deemed to be public record are available for download.
Additional information on Pennsylvania’s Right to Know Law and PSP Policy
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Governor's Office Management Directive 205.35 Amended
Pennsylvania State Police Right to Know Law Policy Revised 11-29-2011